Shane_Theriot Johnny_Neel Jeff_Sipe Count_Mbutu Derek_Jones
Derek Jones is a world class bassist. Whether on electric or acoustic bass, Derek delivers musicality and inspiration drawn from the varied experiences of his performing career. Just a few of the artists Derek has performed/recorded with include:

Jerry Douglas, Crystal Gayle, Johnny Neel, Jeff Sipe, The Mike Marshal/Darol Anger band, The Pete Escovedo Orchestra, Sheila E., Dori Cymmi, Marcos Silva, Paul McCandless (Oregon), Will Kennedy (Yellowjackets), David Grissman, Paul Hanson (The greatest bassoon player in the world!), Nickel Creek, Denny Jiosa, Craig Chaquico, Ray Obiedo, Chester Thompson, Jack Perla (Winner of the Thelonius Monk composition award 1997), Zakir Hussain, David Garibaldi, Steve Smith, Kai Eckhardt (John McLaughlin, Garage Mahal), Jeff Coffin (Bela Fleck and the Flecktones), Ramblin' Jack Elliot ("The Long Ride Home": nominated for a Grammy in 2000), Orestes Vilato (Santana, Fania All Stars, Cachao), Tony Furtado and Rob Ickes (IBMA Dobro player of the year: 96, 97, 98, 99, 00).

Derek was featured in the Nov. '00 issue of Bass Player Magazine and his recorded work has been reviewed in Bass Player, Jazz Is, Dirty Linen and Down Beat. He has also worked in TV on shows such as: Vibe (with Pete Escovedo), The Magic Hour (Magic Johnson and Sheila E), Jay Leno (with Nickel Creek), Conan O'Brien (with Nickel Creek), CMT Live (with Nickel Creek), Fox Morning Show (with Crystal Gayle) and the 2001 & 2002 CMA Awards as well as a movie soundtrack for Pixar.
  copyright 2004-06 | | all rights reserved